Artefact 2

As most people are, I am still feeling slightly shocked about the American elections and the other events and milestones that have happened this year…let’s face it it has been a turbulent year.

I decided to use this dismay to influence my next spreadable media artefact. I wanted to make a comical, but serious remix about the elections and other events of the year in the hope that this tapped into the mood of online communities.

I love South Park and think that their satirical take on the elections is really spot on via the member berries plot. It has become a popular trend online and has spread as a meme. I saw that the member berries have a couple of Twitter pages  #memberberries and thought it would be a good idea to use them to inform the content for my video.

Like this one:

8

I scrolled through the popular tweets of the past couple of months, each comment in the video is a genuine tweet of what people member (remember) and what they are talking about online.

I also went to a meme generator to make this for my video intro:

meme.jpeg

I then found related creative commons images online linked to the tweets to form the visuals for my video. This became the remix content of 2016 with a mixture of serious and funny members from the year.

David_Bowie_-_TopPop_1974_11.png

I then finished it off with another meme generated caption:

meme1.jpeg

There were a lot of inappropriate members which I omitted. We have had a lot of negativity already this year, so hopefully this video will be a bit of light, but serious, relief for online users.

Please check out my remix artefact online on YouTube, Twitter etc….enjoy and please share!

This entry was posted in Video Remix and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

